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Glossary
 
Web Glossary
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cache

Your browser stores everything it reads on the user's hard disk. Every HTML page, every graphic. The next time it comes to pull down the same page, it uses the cached version, which is much faster - no need to download again via the Internet.

Catch-all e-mail account

If you have your own domain "domain.com" and catch-all e-mail account, no matter what word you put in front of "@domain.com," you'll get it. So "jack@domain.com" comes to you. So does "jill@domain.com." Yes, even "anything@domain.com" will reach you!

CGI script

Common Gateway Interface. Interface standard that sets the rules for running external programs (gateways) on a Web server. Gateway programs, or scripts, are external, executable programs that can be run under various information servers interchangeably. All the work is done by the server. CGI offers total cross-platform, cross-browser compatibility. Gateway scripts conforming to this standard can be written in any language that produces an executable file. The most popular language for CGI scripts is PERL - a cross-platform programming language that is ideal for CGI programming. And it's free. Some of the more common CGI scripts found on the Web are used to put the content of a form into an email message, to query a database query and to generate HTML pages.

Client

A remote computer connected to a host or server computer that represents the customer side of a client/server relationship. Client can refer to you, to your computer, or to the software running on your computer.

Client-side

Client-side pertains to programming that is done on YOUR desktop computer.

Cloaking

The process by which your Web site can display different pages under different circumstances. Primarily used to show optimized page to the search engines and a different page to humans. Most search engines will penalize a site if they discover that it is using cloaking.

CMYK

Abbreviation for cyan, magenta, yellow and key (black), the four process colors.

COA (Cost Of Acquisition)

What it costs you to gain a sale or subscriber. If you spend $100 on advertising and gain 10 sales, then your cost of acquisition is $10 per sale.

Conversion rate

The percentage of people who take a desired action, usually involving a sale.

Cookie

Information stored on a user's computer for the purpose of tracking activity on a site or for personalizing content.

CPA (Cost Per Action)

Advertiser payment based on site visitors executing a desired response e.g. subscription, survey completed, download or sale.

CPC (Cost Per Click )

What it costs to have individual visitors sent to your site. In a CPM model example, if you pay $5 for 1000 impressions and an average of 10 people click through for each 1000 impression, then your CPC would be $5 per visitor under that campaign.

CPM ( Cost Per Thousand)

This is the way that banners, pop ups and pop under ads are often sold. Why the "M"? M is the Roman numbers equivalent of "one thousand".

CTR - Click Through Rate or Ratio

A calculation based on impressions vs. clicks. If one thousand banners are displayed and from these displays, 10 people click on the banner, the CTR would be 1%